Autosave progress FAQs
How can I disable or enable this option?
Allow autosave progress for all respondents can be enabled or disabled by going to Advanced section.
Why am I not allowed to enable Allow autosave progress for all respondents?
First things first, you need to verify if you have either Approvals,Allow respondents to save the submission and resume later or Allow respondents to edit submission at a later time enabled. If any of these is enabled, then you won’t be able to enable Allow autosave progress for all respondents.
Are respondents informed that their progress has been restored?
Yes. If your respondents come back to the same form using the same device/browser within 15 days, then they will see a toaster informing them that their progress has been restored.
Can my respondents’ data by accessed by anyone else?
This is a legit concern. It totally depends on how your form is completed.
For example, if you share your form on your website and it can be accessed by anyone, chances that two different people complete the same form using the same browser and device are really low.
On the other side, if you have an operational form that is being completed by multiple respondents using the same browser/device, then it might be better to turn Allow autosave progress for all respondents off. Having it on means that the following employee could access data from another employee just because they are using the same browser and device and the form was not submitted.
How does this work if I’m using prefill for any form fields?
Let’s start with a scenario: you have a form where you are prefilling some fields. Your respondents start completing the form and even modify some fields that were already prefilled. For some reason, your respondent abandons the form, but comes back to it within 15 days, using the same browser and device.
When accessing the form the second time, the prefill works as usual – the fields are prefilled according to your settings. If we detect that there is data provided by the respondent saved for this form, from the same browser/device, then we are automatically retrieving it and overwrite the prefilled data if it was modified by your respondent.
I have the following use case: I have some data in Salesforce that is prefilling my form. My respondent accesses the form, starts providing information, but abandons. In that 15 days timeframe, I’m updating the Salesforce data. What does my respondent see when accessing the form again within that 15 days timeframe?
No matter if Allow autosave progress for all respondents is enabled or not, your Salesforce prefill will work as usual.
When you have this option enabled, we are storing in the respondents browser the information they provide. Here are two possibile scenarios:
1. Your respondent modifies a field that was prefilled from Salesforce – in this case, when your respondent accesses the form the second time, within that 15 days timeframe, we are automatically retrieving the information your respondent has provided.
2. Your respondent does not modify a field that was prefilled from Salesforce – in this case, the Saleforce prefill works as usual. If you have updated the data in Salesforce in the meantime, when your respondent access the form the second time within that 15 days timeframe, then the new data from Salesforce will be prefilled.
Will this data arrive in any third-party app?
No. By enabling Allow autosave progress for all respondents, we are storing in the respondent’s browser the data they are providing for 15 days. If there is no submission involved, this means that there is no data to be sent in any third-party app.
Will this data be available in Submissions table?
No. By enabling Allow autosave progress for all respondents, we are storing in the respondent’s browser the data they are providing for 15 days. If there is no submission involved, this means there is no data to be shown in Submissions table.